This Is The End

For the moment, I’m going to ignore the scary reality that I’ve just moved in to a house share in London with strangers and none of my housemates have spoken to me yet. Instead, I’m going to focus on Veganuary, and reflect on the last 29 days of cruelty-free life.

The truth is, I have not enjoyed it. I’ve felt angry at the few options in restaurants. I’ve felt sad when everyone else is eating biscuits that I’m not allowed to have. And I’ve felt hungry, more than I thought I would.

Last night I came very close to purposefully breaking my Veganuary resolution, and I even ordered a meal with halloumi on it. I told myself I would pick it off and give it to the omni/pescatarian/vegetarian people I was eating with, but I was tempted to just dig in. By the time the meal arrived, I had resolved that I was just going to eat it and fuck Veganuary because I’d done well and saved animals and I was hungry. But then, the meal did arrive. And it had a massive fuck-off dollop of yoghurt on it. It was almost like the fates were teasing me, saying “eat it, Kirsty! Screw those cows that gave their udders and possibly their lives so that you could eat! Dig in!”

In the end, I did give the halloumi away and scraped the yoghurt from my roasted vegetables – and I’m proud of myself for that. But I still bought a non-vegan meal, and did nothing to raise the profile of cruelty-free eating for that particular restaurant. Again, I’m forgetting why I started Veganuary in the first place.

Nevertheless, I’ve still got some reviews to do! I promised in my first Veganuary post that I would talk about the most pretentious-sounding treat in existence: London Maker’s raw stoneground chocolate, butterscotch flavour, free from dairy, gluten, refined sugar, and nuts.

At first glance, they don’t look like dark chocolate. They’re light in colour and look a bit like Rolos (side note: whatever happened to Rolos?!). And they don’t taste like dark chocolate, even rolling in at a considerable 70% cocao. I feel naughty eating them, like they’ve tricked me into dairy-filled milk chocolate. But damn are they good. The butterscotch flavour comes through nicely, but isn’t overpowering. I am hooked.

The downsides, however, are threefold: 1) when you bite into a chunk, it splinters off into smaller bits and makes you spill chocolate all down your top; 2) you only get three chunks in a packet; and 3) it is, apparently, absurdly expensive. So think of it more as an infrequent treat than your go-to chocolate bar. But do try it if you can – it’s worth it.

That’s all for today – expect another post in a few days about the end of Veganuary, and whether I’m going to keep going into Vegruary, Varch, Vapril, Vune…

Leave a Reply

